Marvel Movies and Shows in Chronological Order

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has become a cultural phenomenon, captivating audiences around the world with its thrilling superhero stories and interconnected universe. With over 20 movies and numerous TV shows, keeping track of the chronological order of Marvel movies and shows can be a daunting task. In this article, we will explore the chronological order of the MCU, from its inception to the latest releases, and understand the importance of watching these movies and shows in the correct order.

Understanding the chronological order of Marvel movies and shows

To fully appreciate the intricate storytelling and character development in the MCU, it is crucial to watch the movies and shows in the correct chronological order. While the release order is one way to experience the MCU, watching the events unfold in chronological order provides a deeper understanding of the interconnected narrative. By following the chronological order, you can witness the evolution of characters, storylines, and the overall Marvel universe.

Phase 1: The beginning of the MCU

Phase 1 of the MCU kicked off with the release of “Iron Man” in 2008, introducing us to the genius billionaire Tony Stark and the birth of the superhero Iron Man. This was followed by “The Incredible Hulk,” “Iron Man 2,” “Thor,” and “Captain America: The First Avenger.” These movies established the core characters and set the foundation for the interconnected universe, culminating in the epic ensemble film “The Avengers.”

Phase 1 also includes the TV show “Agent Carter,” which expands on the story of Peggy Carter, a key character from “Captain America: The First Avenger.” While this show can be watched after “The First Avenger,” it is not essential to the overall chronology.

Phase 2: Expanding the universe

Phase 2 of the MCU continued the interconnected storytelling, introducing new characters and expanding the universe. It started with “Iron Man 3” and continued with “Thor: The Dark World,” “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” “Guardians of the Galaxy,” “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” and “Ant-Man.” These movies further developed the individual character arcs while building towards the events of “Avengers: Age of Ultron.”

During Phase 2, the TV show “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.” is set in the same universe and complements the events of the movies. It is recommended to watch this show alongside the Phase 2 movies for a more immersive experience.

Phase 3: The culmination of the MCU

Phase 3 of the MCU is where the stakes are raised, and the storylines reach their climax. It began with “Captain America: Civil War,” which divided the Avengers and set the stage for the ultimate showdown. This phase also introduced new heroes like Doctor Strange, Black Panther, and Captain Marvel.

Phase 3 continued with movies like “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2,” “Spider-Man: Homecoming,” “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Black Panther,” “Avengers: Infinity War,” and “Ant-Man and the Wasp.” These movies laid the groundwork for the epic conclusion of the Infinity Saga in “Avengers: Endgame.”

In addition to the movies, Phase 3 also featured several TV shows that are set in the same universe. These shows, including “Daredevil,” “Jessica Jones,” “Luke Cage,” “Iron Fist,” and “The Defenders,” provide a grittier and more grounded perspective on the Marvel universe. While not directly tied to the events of the movies, these shows add depth to the overall narrative.

Phase 4: The new era of Marvel storytelling

Phase 4 of the MCU marks a new era of storytelling, introducing new characters, storylines, and genres. Kicking off with “Black Widow,” Phase 4 also includes movies like “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “Eternals,” and “Spider-Man: No Way Home.” These movies will continue to expand the Marvel universe and set the stage for future adventures.

In addition to the movies, Phase 4 will also see the release of several TV shows that connect to the larger narrative. Shows like “WandaVision,” “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier,” “Loki,” and “Hawkeye” will delve deeper into the stories of beloved characters and pave the way for new ones.

Marvel TV shows and their place in the timeline

Marvel TV shows have played an important role in expanding the MCU, providing additional character development and unique storylines. While some shows are directly connected to the movies and share the same universe, others exist in their own separate corners of the Marvel multiverse.

The TV shows that are directly connected to the MCU include “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.,” “Agent Carter,” and the Netflix series (“Daredevil,” “Jessica Jones,” “Luke Cage,” “Iron Fist,” and “The Defenders”). These shows can be watched alongside the corresponding movies for a more immersive experience.

On the other hand, shows like “WandaVision,” “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier,” “Loki,” and “Hawkeye” are part of the MCU’s Phase 4 and directly tie into the events of the movies. Watching these shows in conjunction with the movies will provide a complete understanding of the evolving narrative.

How to watch Marvel movies and shows in chronological order

To experience the full chronological order of the MCU, here is a suggested viewing order:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942 – 1945)
  2. Agent Carter (Seasons 1-2)
  3. Iron Man (2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (2011)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (2011)
  6. Thor (2011)
  7. The Avengers (2012)
  8. Iron Man 3 (2012)
  9. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Seasons 1-7, alongside Phase 2 movies)
  10. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  11. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  13. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)
  14. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  15. Ant-Man (2015)
  16. Daredevil (Netflix series)
  17. Jessica Jones (Netflix series)
  18. Luke Cage (Netflix series)
  19. Iron Fist (Netflix series)
  20. Agent Carter (Season 3)
  21. Doctor Strange (2016)
  22. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Seasons 4-7, alongside Phase 3 movies)
  23. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  24. Black Widow (2021)
  25. Black Panther (2018)
  26. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2018)
  27. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  28. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  29. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  30. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (Season 7)
  31. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  32. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2024)
  33. WandaVision (Disney+ series)
  34. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (Disney+ series)
  35. Loki (Disney+ series)
  36. Hawkeye (Disney+ series)

By following this viewing order, you will have a comprehensive understanding of the chronological events in the MCU and the evolving storylines of its characters.

The importance of watching in chronological order

Watching Marvel movies and shows in chronological order allows you to fully appreciate the intricate storytelling, character arcs, and the overall narrative of the MCU. By following the chronology, you can witness the evolution of characters, understand the references and callbacks, and experience the impact of major events.

Furthermore, watching in chronological order enhances the overall viewing experience and provides a more cohesive and immersive journey through the Marvel universe. It allows you to connect the dots, uncover hidden connections, and fully immerse yourself in the rich tapestry of the MCU.


Marvel movies and shows have created a vast and interconnected universe that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. Understanding the chronological order of the MCU is essential to fully appreciate the intricate storytelling and character development. By following the suggested viewing order, you can embark on a thrilling journey through the Marvel universe, from its humble beginnings to its epic culmination and beyond. So grab your popcorn, assemble your favorite Marvel heroes, and get ready for an unforgettable adventure.

Leave a comment